Article Tools

Font size
Share This

The annual UNICO Game, featuring the top senior football players from the Wyoming Valley Conference will be played June 1 at Wyoming Area.

Tunkhannock will be well represented by Logan Cywinski a running back, Billy Prebola at kicker, Conner Munley a wide receiver, and Sam Rice and Evan Turner.

At the request of the coaches in the conference, the game was switched from the Saturday following Thanksgiving to a date where they believed the crowd interest would be greater and the temperatures warmer.

The teams will remain the Miners and Pioneers. Holy Redeemer’s Dwayne Downing will coach the Pioneers, while Meyers head coach Jeff Labatch will guide the Miners.

While the game had always been a summer tradition from its beginning, in 2003 UNICO officials elected to play the game on Thanksgiving Day.

That lasted two years before the game was changed to the night before Thanksgiving for eight years.

In 2013, it was switched to the Saturday after Thanksgiving.

The coaches from the WVC met recently to select the rosters for the game.


Hazleton Area: Adrian Otero, Josh Zukoski, Will Strassner, Joey Hatton, Tony Ryba, Matt Brunza

Holy Redeemer: Chris Black, JD Turosky, Joe Daoud, Jon Winter

Dallas: Brad Adams, James Hunter, Nate Maransky, David Schuster, Chris Murray, Dalton Simpson

Pittston Area: Kevin Krawczyk, Dorian Ryans

Wyoming Area: PJ Angeli, Marc Minichello, Shane Eslick, Damon Barhight, Justin Joseph, Rob Trottini

Crestwood: Jeff Schmude, Shane O’Rourke, Ryan Black, Kevin Klusewitz, John O’Boyle

Valley West: Rob Dwyer, Sean Mikovitch, Zach Davies, Dom Alunni, Jake Blaski, Jake Gurtis, Cortes Adams

Tunkhannock: Logan Cywinski, Billy Prebola, Conner Munley, Sam Rice, Evan Turner


GAR: Yorlin Peralta, Anthony Blake, Gerson Peralta, Zynear Bradford

Hanover Area: Sal Gurnari, Josh Jopling, Don Lott, Robert Fuller

Lake-Lehman: Kaleb Konigus, Trey Borger, Nate O’Donnel, Liam O’Brien, Nate Labar, Jack Symeon

Meyers: Janssen Wilborn, Rajhan Woodson, Kenny Macko, Jason Castellano

Nanticoke Area: Eric Jeffries, Dawson Hughes, John Goszak, Allen Fowler, Kris Siewell

Northwest: Jake Anderson, Zach Wolfe, Brandon Hardiman, Austin Sult

Berwick: Chase Strother, Thomas Monico, Joe Norce, Jimmie LeGrand

Coughlin: Vincent Todd, Jacob Cole, Alex Gulitus, Corey Harrison, Patrick Strouse, Cole Horan