Article Tools

Font size
Share This

Photo: N/A, License: N/A

Members of the Tunkhannock Area junior high team don their medals after the Wyoming Valley Conference junior high wrestling championships.

Photo: N/A, License: N/A

Photo: N/A, License: N/A

With a boost from a talented bunch of freshman, Lake-Lehman’s varsity wrestling team rolled through the Wyoming Valley Conference this season on the way to an undefeated Division 2 title.

The Black Knights might not be going anywhere soon.

With four champions, six finalists and 12 total medalists, Lake-Lehman captured the team title with 201 points at Saturday’s WVC junior high wrestling championships.

With 115-pound champ Jimmy Spindler leading the way, Pittston Area took second place with 162 points.

Coughlin — the WVC Division 1 champions at the varsity level — was third (143.50) with three champions.

Tunkhannock Area, which had its varsity team finish second in Division 1 with its only loss coming at the hands of Coughlin, placed seventh overall with 105 points, with six of its seven wrestlers taking home medals.

For the Tigers, Owen Woods won gold at 90 pounds by pinning Hazleton’s Lucas Bodnar in 59 seconds, while Jakob Baltrusaitis also won gold at 155 pounds with a 13-3 major decision over Crestwood’s Nolan Stortz.

Tunkhannock’s Nick Marabell finished in second after getting pinned in the championship bout at 185 pounds by Lake-Lehman’s Jeff Meader in 1:12, while Frankie Scranta also took second at 165 pounds after getting pinned in the championship bout.

Also for the Tigers, Jayden Kozlowski battled back to win third at 250 pounds and Tyrese Conan placed sixth at 145 pounds.

Team scores

1. Lake-Lehman (L-L), 201; 2. Pittston Area (PA), 162; 3. Coughlin (Cou), 143.5; 4. Wyoming Area (WA), 138; 5. Hazleton Area (Haz), 132; 6. Crestwood (Cre), 124; 7. Tunkhannock (Tun), 105; 8. Meyers (Mey), 102; 9. Valley West (VW), 101; 10. Nanticoke Area (NA), 63; 11. Hanover Area (Han), 54; 12. Berwick (Ber), 43; 13. Dallas (Dal), 15.


75: Garret Poccschi (WA) dec. Dorian Hoffman (VW), 6-2.

80: Thomas Gernhart (NA) dec. Bo Volker (L-L), 9-2. 85: Ian Ratchford (VW) pinned Trevor Vought (Ber), 0:55.

90: Owen Woods (Tun) pinned Lucas Bodnar (Haz), 0:59.

95: Mason Konigus (L-L) dec. Colton Chipeleski (Haz), 16-11.

100: Josh Warman (Cou) dec. Jared Wolk (Haz), 10-6.

105: Sean Moniahan (Cou) default Justin Benscoter (NA), 2:15.

110: Rocco Pizano (WA) dec. Geryson Shaud (Haz), 7-1.

115: Jimmy Spindler (PA) maj. dec. Aiden Frields (Han), 11-1.

122: Oscar Zamudio (Haz) pinned Aidan Jaskulski (NA), 0:49.

130: Matt Chase (Cou) tech fall Nikko Solano (PA), 17-2 (2:50).

138: Connor Wrobleski (WA) pinned Connor Morgan (L-L), 1:24.

145: Bryce Molinaro (Haz) pinned Jason Besacan (Mey), 0:29.

155: Jakob Baltrusaitis (Tun) maj. dec. Nolan Stortz (Cre), 13-3.

165: Pat Diepro (L-L) pinned Frank Scranta (Tun), 3:39.

185: Jeff Meader (L-L) pinned Nick Marabell (Tun), 1:12.

210: Nasir Condry (WA) pinned D.J. Darbenzio (PA), 3:55.

250: Arron Groboski (L-L) pinned Randal Bednar (Cou), 2:49.