Article Tools

Font size
Share This

Photo: N/A, License: N/A, Created: 2018:04:22 16:07:37


Photo: N/A, License: N/A, Created: 2018:05:18 16:45:57


Rosters have been set for the sixth annual Field of Dreams Game, scheduled for June 24 at PNC Field and Tunkhannock’s outfielder Connor Munley, along with Coach Gary Custer will take the field.

The event has been expanded this year and will feature a doubleheader as teams from the Lackawanna League and the Wyoming Valley Conference have been split into small-school and big-school teams. The small school game will be at 1:30 p.m. and the big school game will be at 4 p.m.

Sandy Menichetti of Holy Cross will manage the Lackawanna League Small School team and Jamie Higgins of Scranton will manage the Big School team.

For the Wyoming Valley Conference, Kyle Paul of GAR will manage the Small School team and Gary Custer of Tunkhannock will manage the Big School team.

Each player named to the team will be honored on the field before the June 21 RailRiders game against Lehigh Valley.

Game sponsors are Lackawanna County, the Lackawanna County Convention and Visitors Bureau, the Luzerne County Convention and Visitors Bureau, The Times-Tribune, The Citizens Voice, the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders, Battaglia’s Sporting Goods, and Electric City Baseball.

Admission is $5 and a portion of the proceeds will go to the Bill Howerton Strikeout Cancer Scholarship Fund.

Lackawanna League Small School: Carbondale’s Jordan Tolerico (OF); Dunmore’s Richie Grippi (SS); Forest City’s Kyle Shema (P) and Dakota Knehr-Cook (P); Holy Cross’ Ronnie James (C), Joe DeGrazia (3B), and Carson Cacioppo (2B); Mid Valley’s Mario Bonacci (OF), JJ Glinsky (OF), and Anthony Colvin (P); Montrose’s Keith Ely (C), Romey Washo (P), and Bryden Jerauld (OF); Old Forge’s Mason Boettger (P), Lorenzo Febbo (P), and Patrick Donovan (1B).

Wyoming Valley Conference Small School: GAR’s Simon Peter (SS) and Ronald Peguero (OF);

Hanover Area’s Matt Clarke (SS), Steven Piscotty (OF), Brett Stevens (1B), and Sean Hart (C);

Holy Redeemer’s Sean Wills (P) and Tom Borum (C), Lake-Lehman’s Chris Hadsall (3B) and Henry Selingo (P); Meyers’ Nick Pugh (2B) and Kenny Macko (3B); MMI Prep’s Marc Lobitz (P) and George Palermo (SS); Northwest Area’s Brandon Hardiman (P); Wyoming Seminary’s Mike Oravic (C), Sam Sweitzer (P), and Caleb Jerome (1B).

Lackawanna League Big School: Abington Heights’ Nick Termini (P), Delaware Valley’s Brendan Heaney (1B); Lakeland’s Matt Hayes (1B), Nico Piraino (2B), and Dom Verrastro (P); North Pocono’s Nate McLain (P), Cory Wall (P), and Mike Kowalski (2B); Riverside’s Peyton Connor (C) and Tyler Quick (P); Scranton Prep’s Noah Nalevanko (OF); Valley View’s Corey Pezak (OF) and Mason Black (P); Wallenpaupack’s Tyler Kirsten (SS); West Scranton’s Noah Worsnick (C) and Shayne Merrifield (SS).

Wyoming Valley Conference Big School: Berwick’s Jared Marshman (OF); Coughlin’s TJ Wozniak (P); Crestwood’s Brett Caladie (SS), Colin Macko (1B), and Corey Chalk (P); Dallas’ Nick Kocher (P), Josh Lydon (P), Drew Patton (OF), and Matt Mathers (C); Hazleton Area’s Christopher Heim (OF) and Cody Reese (P); Nanticoke’s Kris Rynkiewicz (C); Pittston Area’s Kyle Ralston (OF); Tunkhannock’s Connor Munley (OF); Wyoming Area’s Dylan Melberger (3B); and Wyoming Valley West’s Austin Sienkiewicz (SS) and Jake Packer (OF).