Article Tools

Font size
Share This

Photo: N/A, License: N/A

Photo: N/A, License: N/A

Keystone College used a five-run seventh inning to overcome a four-run deficit to claim its ninth straight Colonial States Athletic Conference baseball title, edging Immaculata University, 6-5, in the winner-take-all championship game Sunday at PNC Field.

The Giants (31-13) advanced to the NCAA Regional tournament for the 10th straight season.

The Mighty Macs (26-12) forced a second game Sunday, snapping Keystone’s 26-game CSAC playoff win streak in the process with a 13-2 victory.

Immaculata then took a 5-1 lead into the bottom of the seventh of the final.

Keystone rallied with six hits, one an RBI triple from Honesdale’s Adam Kelly, to claim the lead.

Giants shortstop Chris Panzarella had two hits in the final game and was named CSAC championship MVP after batting .571 with eight hits, eight RBIs and four runs scored in Keystone’s four games.

Keystone made it to the championship after a 12-5 victory against Gwynedd Mercy University in the opening and a 7-0 win over Neumann University in the semifinals.

The Giants will enter the Mideast Regional as the No. 6 seed and will play No. 3 seed La Roche College on Thursday at Ross Memorial Park at host Washington & Jefferson College in Washington, Pa.

The first pitch of Thursday’s game vs. the Redhawks is scheduled for 4:30 p.m.

Keystone is looking to earn its second straight and third overall trip to the NCAA Collegiate World Series after finishing as the national runner-up last spring.

Keystone and La Roche will open the regional tournament with a rematch of a pair of meetings at last year’s Collegiate World Series, both won by the Giants, as Keystone advanced to the national championship series.

This is the third year in a row that Keystone has headed out of the Mid-Atlantic Region for regional play after winning the New England Regional last spring while advancing to the final four of the New York Regional in 2015.

La Roche sports a 34-8 mark this spring and advanced to the regional tournament for the fourth year in row by winning its fourth-straight Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference championship on Sunday.

The complete Mideast Regional field includes: #1 Wooster, #2 SUNY Cortland, #3 La Roche, #4 Washington & Jefferson, #5 Misericordia, #6 Keystone, #7 DePauw, and #8 Earlham.

The Mideast Regional field includes three of the final four teams in last year’s Collegiate World Series field: Keystone, La Roche, and SUNY Cortland.

Winners of the eight regional tournaments will qualify for the double-elimination championship at Fox Cities Stadium in Appleton, Wisconsin, Friday-Tuesday/Wednesday, May 26- 30/31.